things I have learned today

  • I actually kind of enjoy grading tests and adding up the points. Does this mean I should abandon academia and become an accountant?
  • Many, many people other than myself find the lyrics to “Winter Wonderland” confusing. As far as I know, however, I am the only one to bring talk show hosts and one-night stands into the matter*.
  • Lily baked that banana bread herself this morning**. I mean, wow. Who knew that kind of thing was still going on?

*The whole story: Just the other day the song came on in a sandwich joint vastly inferior to Lily’s (which is closed on the weekends), and I was with a friend who had to tell me it was “Parson Brown,” and it was a religious title.

All this time I had thought, “Carson Brown? Was he some kind of talk show figure? And were the singers offering him a one-night stand?” Ah, faithful readers. This is why you love me.

**And it was delicious.

6 Responses to “things I have learned today”

  1. Haha, I thought Parson Brown was a reference to some hunky guy everyone had a crush on back in the day.

    (Oh and it was a coincidence, because my iTunes was on shuffle mode and Yann Tiersen started playing before I read the poem.)

  2. 2 vorare


    In the meadow we can build a snowman,
    Then pretend that he is Parson Brown

    He’ll say: Are you married?
    We’ll say: No man,
    But you can do the job
    When you’re in town.

    Are they proposing some kind of double-life marriage thing that will only be in effect when he’s in their area code? Buh?

  3. 3 Flo

    Wikipedia : “In the period when this song was written, parsons (now known as a Protestant ministers) often traveled among small rural towns to perform wedding ceremonies for denominational followers who did not have a local minister of their own faith. It is therefore likely that the children are pretending that their snowman is a parson with the surname “Brown” who would be visiting the town again in the future.”

    I love how these (now) cryptic lyrics send everyone’s imagination running…

  4. 4 vorare

    Indeed! It’s like a free-association test.

  5. It was me! I said it.

  6. 6 vorare

    You win, your game, you win!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

